Skilled Visas

Subclass 189 Skilled Independent visa

Subclass 190 Skilled Nominated visa

Subclass 482 Temporary Skills Shortage visa

Subclass 491 Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) visa

Subclass 494 Skilled Regional (Provisional) visa


Australia welcomes skilled immigrants, and has a number of visa schemes to suit different categories of skilled immigrants. 

The subclass 189 Skilled Independent Visa and subclass 190 Skilled Nominated Visa are permanent residence visas that require nomination by the State or Territory, but do not require a firm job offer as part of the visa eligibility criteria.

The Subclass 482 Temporary Skills Shortage Visa replaced the previous subclass 457 visa. This is a temporary residence visa. You will need to have a confirmed job offer to be eligible to apply. This visa allows the applicant to work in several streams, each having occupations and visa compliance conditions specific to that stream. The streams are the Short Term Skills Occupation List (STSOL) and the Medium-to-Long Term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL) and the Regional Occupation List (ROL). The STSOL does not offer a pathway to permanent residence, while the MLTSSL and ROL do so. 

The subclass 491 Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) Visa is open to applicants to live and work in designated regional areas of Australia. Who have been nominated by the State or Territory government, or sponsored by an eligible relative. This visa is points tested, and require 65 points or more to be eligible. You will require suitable skills assessment, but do not require to have a firm job offer before applying for the visa. 

The subclass 494 Skilled Employer Sponsored Regional (Provisional) Visa is intended for applicants to live and work in designated regional areas of Australia. This visa has 2 main streams, being the Employer Sponsored Stream, the Labour Agreement stream, with a third stream, the Subsequent Entrant stream, intended for family members to join the main applicant holding the same visa under the other streams. All streams require is open to applicant to have a positive skills assessment, with a firm job offer and be nominated by their employer or to work under a labour agreement

Steps to take:

Step 1: Select the most suitable occupation for your qualifications and employment experience. Check the List of Eligible Occupations that the Department of Home Affairs sets out. This list is updated periodically, so check for changes. Check if you require a job offer by a prospective employer, or nomination by a State or Territory Government, or if you can be sponsored by an eligible relative, or if you can apply on your own.

Step 2: Apply for and obtain a positive skills assessment from the occupation’s designated governing and assessing authority, as required. We can assist and guide you through this skills assessment process. A positive skills assessment from the appropriate authority is a requirement for several visa categories.

Step 3: Prove your English language ability. Some nationalities are exempt, but most require a formal English language test. If needed as part of a visa requirement, we encourage you to do the test as soon as possible. English language test results are valid for three years.

Step 4: Consider your age, points test entitlements (where applicable) and any other factors required as part of your visa eligibility requirements. If you have a positive skill assessment, meet the English language requirement, are below 45 years of age, and where applicable hold a confirmed job offer or have received an invitation to apply from the nominated State or Territory, we can assist you to prepare and lodge your visa application. After lodgement, we will monitor your visa application and advise you on its process.